Matthews was named the recipient of the Hart Trophy on Tuesday, awarded to the NHL player most valuable to his team as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

He also won the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the most outstanding player as voted by the players.

The Toronto Maple Leafs forward bested forward Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers and goaltender Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers for the Hart Trophy, and beat McDavid and Nashville Predators defenceman Roman Josi for the Ted Lindsay Award.

Other award winners on Tuesday included Rangers goalie Igor Shesterkin (Vezina Trophy), Red Wings rookie Moritz Seider (Calder Trophy), and Avalanche defenceman Cale Makar (Norris Trophy).