Burns, Giordano, Hedman are Norris Trophy finalists


Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks, Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for the 2018-19 James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position," the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the Norris Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be revealed Wednesday, June 19, during the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

Following are the finalists for the Norris Trophy, in alphabetical order:

Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks

Burns topped NHL defensemen and established career highs with 67 assists and 83 points in 82 games (16-67-83) to help the Sharks qualify for the playoffs for the 14th time in the past 15 seasons. Burns – whose 83 points were the most by a blueliner since 1995-96 (Brian Leetch: 15-70-85 w/ NYR) – became the third defenseman in League history to lead his team in points for three consecutive seasons, joining current teammate Erik Karlsson (2013-14 to 2017-18 w/ OTT) as well as Denis Potvin (1974-75 to 1967-77 w/ NYI). He also became the second blueliner in NHL history to register his first 80-point season at age 34 or older, following Nicklas Lidstrom (2005-06 w/ DET). Burns – who ranked fifth in the NHL in time on ice (2,058:08) – added to his illustrious campaign with his 14th career overtime goal March 30, surpassing Scott Niedermayer for the most by a defenseman in League history. The Barrie, Ont., native is a Norris Trophy finalist for the third time; he won the award in 2016-17 and finished third in voting in 2015-16.

#hockey, #professional

compose new post
go to top
go to the next post or comment
go to the previous post or comment
toggle comment visibility
cancel edit post or comment