Mariano Rivera, Roy Halladay, Edgar Martinez, Mike Mussina Named 2019 Hall of Fame Class Members


The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the inductees into the 2019 Hall of Fame class on Tuesday, and former Yankees pitcher and MLB's all-time saves leader Mariano Rivera highlighted the list of honorees.

Rivera is the first player to be unanimously elected to the Hall of Fame. 

In addition to Rivera, former Blue Jays and Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay was also voted into the exclusive club with 85.4% of the votes. Joining those two as the third inductee in the class of 2019 is former Mariners designated hitter and third baseman Edgar Martinez. Former Orioles pitcher Mike Mussina also made the cut.

Rivera, a five-time World Series champion and the 1999 World Series MVP, leads the MLB in career saves with 652. The 13-time All-Star spent his entire career in New York before retiring after the 2013 season.

In his 16 seasons across the AL and NL, Halladay proved to be one of the best pitchers of his era. He won a Cy Young in each league, went 203-105 over his career and threw a no-hitter in his first career playoff game. He led the league in innings pitched four times during his career and also racked up 2,117 strikeouts. He is the first player voted into the Hall posthumously since Roberto Clemente in 1973.

#baseball, #professional

compose new post
go to top
go to the next post or comment
go to the previous post or comment
toggle comment visibility
cancel edit post or comment