McDavid, Ovechkin, Matthews, MacKinnon voted NHL All-Star captains

Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid will be captain of the Pacific Division for the third straight year at the 2019 Honda NHL All-Star Game at SAP Center in San Jose on Jan. 26 (8 p.m. ET; NBC, CBC, SN, TVAS).

McDavid will be joined by Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin of the Metropolitan Division, Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews of the Atlantic Division and Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon of the Central Division. The captains for each division were chosen through the 2019 NHL All-Star Fan Vote presented by adidas.

McDavid, 21, is fourth in the NHL with 52 points (19 goals, 33 assists) in 35 games. He had two assists in a 5-4 overtime loss to the Winnipeg Jets on Dec. 13 to give him 300 points, making him the ninth player in NHL history to reach that milestone before his 22nd birthday. He also reached 300 points in his 240th NHL game, making him the fifth player since 1998-99 to reach 300 in 250 games or fewer, joining Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (219), Ovechkin (237), Mighty Ducks of Anaheim forward Paul Kariya (238) and Penguins forward Evgeni Malkin (240). McDavid has led the NHL in scoring the past two seasons, and also has won the Ted Lindsay Award as the League's best player as voted by fellow players the past two seasons.

#hockey, #professional

compose new post
go to top
go to the next post or comment
go to the previous post or comment
toggle comment visibility
cancel edit post or comment